Education Logo 9-4-2019

Niigaandiwin Education Department

Providing a variety of services to LTBB Citizens, descendants, and the greater community.

 

Mission Statement

Passionately supporting the growth of our Nation by weaving Ancestral & Contemporary knowledge through community collaboration

 

Vision Statement

Life Success for the Waganakising Odawa Nation and the Rising Generations.

Learning Services

Academics

K-12 Services
Higher Educational Services
Cultural Services – Cultural services works with LTBB citizens, descendants, and community partners to provide cultural education for the benefit of both tribal and non-tribal community members and educators.
WOCTEP – Career & Technical Education
Nitaazhitoojik Industrial Training (NIT) Program – The NIT Program is designed to provide direct assistance to students pursuing training in high demand STEM-related fields.
Cultural Library – Special Collection of Native American Media
Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act (WIOA) – Services to eligible Natives in need of assistance with barriers to employment in the 28-county program service area.

 

Related Information

https://www.publichealth.org/online-degrees/michigan/

Which public health professions exist in my state? – An outline of the professions, internships, and fellowships available to Michigan students

How do I pay for school? – A list of scholarships for Michigan students pursuing public health degrees

Where should I work? – Employment data for each major metropolitan area in the state, and statewide resources for area professionals

Education’s Youtube Page

Contact Information

Located at 7500 Odawa Circle
Harbor Springs, Michigan
Phone: (231) 242-1480
Fax: (231) 242-1490

  • Jordan E. Shananaquet, Director
    •  jeshananaquet@ltbbodawa-nsn.gov
    • (231) 242 -1481
  • Tammy Gasco, Office Administrator
    • tjgasco@ltbbodawa-nsn.gov
    • (231) 242-1480
  • Dorothy Perry, Academic Services Coordinator
    • dperry@ltbbodawa-nsn.gov
    • (231) 242-1482
  • Rachael Koepp, WIOA Employment and Training Specialist
    • rkoepp@ltbbodawa-nsn.gov
    • (231) 242-1488
  • Kim Gabrick, Higher Education Specialist
    • kgabrick@ltbbodawa-nsn.gov
    • (231) 242-1492
  • Kerstine Bennington, NIT Project Director
    • kbennington@ltbbodawa-nsn.gov
    • (231) 242-1485
  • Amanda Weinert, Ishkakimikwe (IK) Curriculum Specialist
    • aweinert@ltbbodawa-nsn.gov
    • (231) 242-1483
  • Theresa Chingwa, Cultural Services Specialist
    • tchingwa@ltbbodawa-nsn.gov
    • (231) 242-1486
  • Celestine Petoskey, Cultural Librarian
    • cepetoskey@ltbbodawa-nsn.gov
    • (231) 242-1487
  • Christopher Polasky, WOCTEP Project Director
    • cpolasky@ltbbodawa-nsn.gov
    • (231) 242-1489
  • Jon Anthony, WOCTEP Lead Student Advisor
    • janthony@ltbbodawa-nsn.gov
    • (231) 242-1484
  • Michael Mondoskin, WOCTEP Student Advisor

    • MMondoskin@ltbbodawa-nsn.gov
    • (231) 242-1478
  • Mary Schneider, WOCTEP Admin Assistant
    • MSchneider@ltbbodawa-nsn.gov
    • (231) 242-1494