1	WAGANAKISING ODAWAK STATUTE #		
2	CONSTITUTIONALLY MANDATED COMPENSATION		
3	FOR ELECTION BOARD MEMBERS		
4			
5			
6	SECTION I. PURPOSE		
7			
8	This Compensation Statute is hereby enacted to establish the compensation levels for the		
9	Election Board members based on Constitutional duties. This Statute replaces and repeals		
10	Waganakising Odawak Statute 2010-013 Constitutionally Mandated Compensation for Election		
11	Board Members, and any previous Statute, Resolution or Policy language with regard to		
12	compensation levels for such positions as stated in this purpose.		
13			
14			
15	SECTION II. DEFINITIONS		
16			
17	A. "Compensation" means the amount of monthly stipend payment for attendance at		
18	regularly scheduled meetings, elections, work-sessions, committee meetings, phone-polls, phone		
19	conferences, special meetings, emergency meetings, hearings, travel, training, electronic		
20	meetings, workgroups, teams or other meetings and any other activity in conjunction with		
21	carrying out Election Board Constitutional duties or any relevant Statute, to be paid monthly.		
22			
23	B. "Tribal Constitution" means the LTBB Constitution adopted by the Tribal Membership		
24	February 1, 2005.		
25			
26	C. "Tribe" shall mean the Little Traverse Bay Bands of Odawa Indians.		
27			
28			
29	SECTION III. COMPENSATION IMPLEMENTATION		
30			
31	The compensation, as set by this statute, shall be implemented the calendar day after the next		
32	general election day is held. For example, if the "general election day" is held on Monday, June		
33	8, 2020, then this statute shall be implemented on Tuesday, June 9, 2020 the next calendar day		

1	following the general election day.		
2			
3	CECTION IV COMPENSATION ESTADI ISHED		
4 5	SECTION IV. COMPENSATION ESTABLISHED		
6	A. The Election board members shall receive the <u>monthly stipend</u> compensation of six-		
7	undred and twenty-five dollars (\$625.00) a month for performing their constitutional duties.		
8	numered and twenty-five domais (\$025.00) a month for performing their constitutional duties.		
9	B. The above compensation shall be subject to federal and state (if applicable) taxation. Tax		
10	withholdings are elective and may be withheld from each payment.		
11			
12	C. Election board members shall not be paid any additional stipend for travel or for		
13	participation in any election, meeting, activity or event.		
14			
15			
16	SECTION V. TRAVEL EXPENSE		
17			
18	Travel expenses for approved travel may be paid in advance or reimbursed at the same rate as		
19	allowed employees in the Tribal Council approved Tribal Governmental Employees Travel		
20	Reimbursement Policy, or as amended.		
21			
22			
23	SECTION VI. COMPENSATION PROHIBITIONS		
24			
2526	A. Persons receiving compensation authorized by this Statute shall be prohibited from:		
27	1. Receiving unemployment compensation for any reductions or termination of		
28	said compensation.		
29	said compensation.		
30	2. Receiving any other type of payment for compensation not explicitly listed in this		
31	Statute, including stipends.		
32	······································		
33	3. Receiving overtime.		

1				
2				
3	SECTION VII.	EMPLOYMENT		
4				
5	Election Board Members positions are not considered employment positions.			
6				
7				
8	SECTION VIII.	SEVERABILITY		
9				
10	If any section, subsection, paragraph, sentence, phrase or portion of this Statute is, for any			
11	reason, held invalid or unconstitutional by any court of competent jurisdiction, such portion shall			
12	be deemed a separate, distinct and independent provision and such holding shall not affect the			
13	validity of the remaining portions thereof.			
14				
15				
16	SECTION IX.	EFFECTIVE DATE		
17				
18	Effective upon signature of the Executive or thirty (30) days from Tribal Council approval			
19	whichever comes first or if the Executive vetoes the legislation, then upon Tribal Council			
20	override of the veto, but shall not be implemented until after the next election and until the next			
21	Tribal Council or individual councilors are sworn in.			
22				
23				
24				
25				
26				
27				
28				
29				