LITTLE TRAVERSE BAY BANDS OF ODAWA INDIANS 7500 Odawa Circle Harbor Springs, MI 49740

TRIBAL RESOLUTION # 062208-03

Authorizing an Additional Appropriation of \$7,000 to the 2008 Odawa Homecoming Jiingtamok / Pow-Wow Committee to come from Prior Period Funds

- **WHEREAS** the Waganakising Odawak Nation, known as the Little Traverse Bay Bands of Odawa Indians, and its citizens are vested with inherent sovereignty and right to self-governance;
- WHEREAS the Little Traverse Bay Bands of Odawa Indians is a federally recognized Indian Tribe under Public Law 103-324, and is a party to numerous Treaties with the United States the most recent of which being the Treaty of Washington of March 28, 1836 (7 Stat. 491) and the Treaty of Detroit of 1855 (11 Stat. 621);
- **WHEREAS** the Pow-Wow Committee is responsible for the promotion and operation of the 2008 Odawa Homecoming Jiingtamok; and
- **WHEREAS** the 2008 Odawa Homecoming Jiingtamok / Pow-Wow Committee requires additional funding for Jiingtamok / Pow Wow items and services that have increased this year due, in part, to inflation and current gas prices.

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED Tribal Council authorizes an appropriation of \$7,000 to come from Prior Period funds to the 2008 Odawa Homecoming Jiingtamok / Pow-Wow line item 2101-2-00.

FURTHER RESOLVED that any revenues raised and all surplus funds of the Jiingtamok / Pow Wow Committee in 2008 shall be carried over to Fiscal Year 2009 for the Odawa Homecoming Jiingtamok Budget;

FINALLY RESOLVED that Tribal Council recognizes Winnay Wemigwase and Annette VanDeCar as the 2008 co-chairpersons of the 2008 Odawa Homecoming Jiingtamok as check requestors and the Tribal Administrator as the check requestor's approval.

CERTIFICATION

As Tribal Council Legislative Leader and Tribal Council Secretary, we certify that this Resolution was duly adopted by the Tribal Council of the Little Traverse Bay Bands of Odawa Indians at a regular meeting of the Tribal Council held <u>June 22, 2008</u> at which a quorum was present, by a vote of _7_ in favor, _0_ opposed, _0_ abstentions, and _2_ absent as recorded by this roll call:

	In Favor	Opposed	Abstained	Absent
Fred Harrington, Jr.				X
Melvin L. Kiogima	X			
Dexter McNamara	X			
Marvin Mulholland	X			
Shirley Oldman				X
Alice Yellowbank	X			
Gerald V. Chingwa	X			
Regina Gasco Bentley	X			
Beatrice A. Law	X			
Date:	Beatrice A. Law, Legislative Leader Regina Gasco Bentley, Secretary			
Received by the Executive Office on _		by		
Pursuant to Article VII, Section D, Subs Indians Constitution adopted on Februar T	ry 1, 2005 the I ribal Council.	Executive concu	urs in this action	
Frank Ettawageshik, Tribal Chairperson				