## LITTLE TRAVERSE BAY BANDS OF ODAWA INDIANS 7500 Odawa Circle Harbor Springs, MI 49740

## TRIBAL RESOLUTION # 050706-01

Appropriation to the Pow-Wow Committee

- **WHEREAS** the Waganakising Odawak Nation, known as the Little Traverse Bay Bands of Odawa Indians, and its citizens are vested with inherent sovereignty and right to self-governance;
- WHEREAS the Little Traverse Bay Bands of Odawa Indians is a federally recognized Indian Tribe under Public Law 103-324, and is a party to numerous Treaties with the United States the most recent of which being the Treaty of Washington of March 28, 1836 (7 Stat. 491) and the Treaty of Detroit of 1855 (11 Stat. 621);
- **WHEREAS** the Pow-Wow Committee is responsible for the promotion and operation of the Homecoming Jiingtaamok; and
- **WHEREAS** the Pow-Wow Committee requires funding in addition to the monies appropriated to them in their 2006 budget in order to successfully promote and operate the Homecoming Jiingtaamok;

**THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED** Tribal Council authorizes an appropriation of \$35,000 to come from prior-period funds to the Pow-Wow Committee.

## **CERTIFICATION**

As Tribal Council Legislative Leader and Tribal Council Secretary, we certify that this Resolution was duly adopted by the Tribal Council of the Little Traverse Bay Bands of Odawa Indians at a regular meeting of the Tribal Council held May 7, 2006 at which a quorum was present, by a vote of  $\underline{1}$  in favor,  $\underline{0}$  opposed,  $\underline{1}$  abstentions, and  $\underline{0}$  absent as recorded by this roll call:

	in Favor	Opposed	Abstained	Absent
Regina Gasco Bentley			X	
Fred Harrington, Jr.	X			
Dexter McNamara	X			
Mary Roberts	X			
Rita Shananaquet	X			
Alice Yellowbank	X			
Shirley Oldman	X			
Melvin L. Kiogima	X			
Beatrice A. Law	X			
Date:				
	Beatrice A. Law, Legislative Leader			
Date:				
	Melvin L. Kiogima, Secretary			
Received by the Executive Office on _		by		
Pursuant to Article VII, Section D, Sub Indians Constitution adopted on Februa			•	
Date:				
	Frank Ettaw	ageshik, Tribal	Chairperson	