## LITTLE TRAVERSE BAY BANDS OF ODAWA INDIANS 7500 Odawa Circle Harbor Springs, MI 49740

## **TRIBAL COUNCIL RESOLUTION # 042907-01**

## **Tribal Council Meeting Procedures Policy**

- **WHEREAS** the Waganakising Odawak Nation, known as the Little Traverse Bay Bands of Odawa Indians, and its citizens are vested with inherent sovereignty and right to self-governance;
- WHEREAS the Little Traverse Bay Bands of Odawa Indians ("LTBB" or "Tribe") is a federally recognized Indian Tribe under Public Law 103-324, and is a party to numerous Treaties with the United States the most recent of which being the Treaty of Washington of March 28, 1836 (7 Stat. 491) and the Treaty of Detroit of 1855 (11 Stat. 621);
- **WHEREAS** The Little Traverse Bay Bands of Odawa Indians has a compelling interest in provided meeting procedures to govern the conduct of Tribal Council meetings as it exercises such legislative powers vested within the LTBB Constitution Article VII;
- **WHEREAS** The Little Traverse Bay Bands of Odawa Indians has a compelling interest to provide and clarify Tribal Council meeting procedures to further promote Tribal citizenship participation.
- **THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED** that the Little Traverse Bay Bands of Odawa Indians amends the Tribal Council Meeting Procedures Policy to further clarify the conduct of Tribal Council meetings.

**FINALLY BE IT RESOLVED** that the Little Traverse Bay Bands of Odawa Indians adopts the Tribal Council Meeting Procedure Policy as of April 29, 2007.

## CERTIFICATION

As Tribal Council Legislative Leader and Tribal Council Secretary, we certify that this Tribal Council Resolution was duly adopted by the Tribal Council of the Little Traverse Bay Bands of Odawa Indians at a regular meeting of the Tribal Council held <u>April 29, 2007</u> at which a quorum was present, by a vote of <u>7</u> in favor, <u>0</u> opposed, <u>0</u> abstentions, <u>2</u> absent as recorded by this roll call:

	In Favor	Opposed	Abstained	Absent
Regina Gasco Bentley	Х			
Fred Harrington, Jr.				X
Dexter McNamara	Х			
Mary Roberts	Х			
Rita Shananaquet	Х			
Alice Yellowbank	Х			
Shirley Oldman	Х			
Melvin L. Kiogima	X			
Beatrice A. Law				Х
Date:	Beatrice A. Law, Legislative Leader			
Date:	Melvin L. Kiogima, Secretary			
Received by the Executive Office on		by		