LITTLE TRAVERSE BAY BANDS OF ODAWA INDIANS 7500 Odawa Circle Harbor Springs, MI 49740

TRIBAL RESOLUTION # 042306-02

Sponsor the Odawa Institute's Anishinaabemowin and Cultural Programming

- **WHEREAS** the Waganakising Odawak is a nation of citizens with inherent sovereignty and right to self-governance and;
- WHEREAS the Little Traverse Bay Bands of Odawa Indians is a federally recognized Indian Tribe under Public Law 103-324, and is a party to numerous Treaties with the United States the most recent of which being the Treaty of Washington of March 28, 1836 (7 Stat. 491) and the Treaty of Detroit of 1855 (11 Stat. 621) and;
- **WHEREAS** the Little Traverse Bay Bands of Odawa Indians Tribal Council is the elected legislative body of the Tribe and;
- **WHEREAS** the Odawa Institute has requested financial help sponsoring Anishinaabemowin and cultural activities;
- **WHEREAS** the Odawa Institute is sponsoring Anishinaabemowin classes at the Tribal Health Center;
- WHEREAS the Odawa Institute is sponsoring black ash basket making classes;
- **WHEREAS** the Odawa Institute is sponsoring many Anishinaabemowin and cultural activities with no charge to participants;
- **WHEREAS** the Odawa Institute is a 501 C3 non-profit corporation whose membership and board of directors consist primarily of Waganakising Odawak;
- **WHEREAS** the Odawa Institute's primary goals are the revitalization of Anishinaabemowin and the Odawa Culture;

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Tribal Council approves a \$9,000.00 donation to the Odawa Institute to come from cultural activities line item.

CERTIFICATION

As Tribal Council Legislative Leader and Tribal Council Secretary, we certify that this Resolution was duly adopted by the Tribal Council of the Little Traverse Bay Bands of Odawa Indians at a regular meeting of the Tribal Council held April 23, 2006 at which a quorum was present, by a vote of $\underline{8}$ in favor, $\underline{0}$ opposed, $\underline{1}$ abstentions, $\underline{0}$ absent as recorded by this roll call:

	III ravor	Opposed	Abstamed	Absent
Regina Gasco Bentley	X			
Fred Harrington, Jr.			X	
Dexter McNamara	X			
Mary Roberts	X			
Rita Shananaquet	X			
Alice Yellowbank	X			
Shirley Oldman	X			
Melvin L. Kiogima	X			
Beatrice A. Law	X			
Date: Date:	Beatrice A.	Law, Legislativ	e Leader	
	Melvin L. Kiogima, Secretary			
Received by the Executive Office on _		by		
Pursuant to Article VII, Section D, Sub Indians Constitution adopted on Februa			•	
Date:	Emanla Ettava	acachile Teibal	Chairmanan	
	rrank Ettaw	ageshik, Tribal	Chairperson	